Are You Ready To Die?

death

Pretty straightforward question I know. But really, are you? Do you want to go out while you’re at the top? Are you willing to wither and die when you’re 90 years old?

Are you one of those people who want to leave a legacy? The ones who work and toil just to make a name for yourself? Do you even care what you do or what you don’t leave behind?

Death has always been a touchy subject that not a lot of people want to discuss. Of course. People don’t want you to die right? Questions about when I want to leave the afterlife struck me because of my grandmother.

She’s been staying at our home for a couple of days now, going in and out of the hospital for checkups, therapies, and whatnots. Am I afraid of her dying? Of course. But I’m also deeply saddened on how weak and fragile she looks. Have I accepted the possibility of her —? Dying? Yes, I had to. I think I’ve welcomed the idea of death a lot of times during my life. Not really suicide per say, but more of accepting as part of life. People get old, get sick, or get into accidents, and just BAM they’re gone. Even the slow deaths still leave people in shock.

The other thing that scares me the most is what happens after our loved ones die. People always say “they’ve gone to a better place.” But what if they don’t? What if they were really awful people and we were all just naïve to accept it? What if he lived a double life that nobody else knew?  Heaven and Hell are taboo subjects as much as death is but what if a multitude of people already went to Hell? I mean, that’s a possibility right?

Okay, let’s move out the concept of Heaven or Hell. Let’s focus on what we can see. Let’s say you die right now with no idea of where your soul is going, is that fine with you? And what about the family you’re going to leave behind? Are there some things left unsaid? Old friends and colleagues?

I honestly believe that no one is ready to die. It’s one thing to accept death but I think it’s another thing to be “ready” for it. Preparing to die is a sad way to live. You live because of life, and not because of death. No one may be ready to face death, but that doesn’t mean we have to cower in fear. Easier said done, but it’s better to live life unafraid.

 

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Are You Ready To Die?

  1. meg says:

    How do i ‘like’ it if i don’t have an account? 🙂 i really liked how you ended it.
    “It’s one thing to accept death but I think it’s another thing to be “ready” for it. Preparing to die is a sad way to live. You live because of life, and not because of death. No one may be ready to face death, but that doesn’t mean we have to cower in fear.”
    Beautiful. 🙂

    • josesarmenta says:

      I only read this now. Haha. Thanks Meg! 🙂 Really appreciate it!

      I don’t know how to like if you don’t have an account =)) It’s not the same with commenting? hehe Oh well. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

