Is There A Story In Your Dream?

6a00d8341bf67c53ef017744adbba4970d-800wi

 

For the past couple of months I’ve been exploring a lot on the meanings and symbols of the dreams we see at night. I even wrote two essays about dreams and it seemed that they just got stranger and more like fiction each night.

Call it fate or even luck, but I was fortunate enough to think that maybe these dreams have stories. Sometimes I’d be the protagonist, talking to an old acquaintance or often times I’d just be a casual observer. Nonetheless, I’ve decided to write stories based on my dreams. These are inspired by a lot of things including my own life, the life of the people around me, and the life I see everyday. And of course, the stories will be sparked by my dreams.

I’d like to introduce my new blog – http://wakinglifestories.wordpress.com/.

If you’ve enjoyed Pending Questions in the past couple of months, I’m hoping you’ll also enjoy the stories that I have to tell. (But don’t worry, of course I’ll still write here! )

For instance, the first story in the blog, When Mrs. Cloud Walked Up To Mr. Tornado, is a story I developed through my constant dreams of a tornado. Yes, I do realize that it’s strange for me, or for anyone for that matter, to dream about a twisting behemoth, but for as long as I can remember, dreams about tornadoes kept coming up. Maybe I’ve watched too much Wizard of Oz or even Twister but I just see them in my sleep. I don’t know what they mean but maybe there’s no real meaning. Maybe I’m just meant to write a story about it.

I remember watching a documentary about the legendary filmmaker James Cameron. He said that he got the inspiration for Avatar when he was just a teenager and he dreamed of blue human-like creatures. The guy freakin’ dreamed about this strange world that he was going to make decades later. He said he didn’t even try to understand the creatures or symbols in his head, but instead he drew and sketched the images that would eventually become the hit movie.

I don’t know what kind of stories I’ll write. I’m thinking (well hoping honestly) that these short stories will be a tender mix of Aesop’s Fables, stories of Oscar Wilde, and even a taste of David Sedaris’.

I’m excited to write. I’m excited to tell stories. And I’m finally excited to dream.

***

 Below is from the Waking Life Stories About page:

Waking Life Stories is a collection of fiction short stories loosely based on everyday experiences, memories, and most importantly dreams. Dreams have their own stories to tell in our sleep. Sometimes we can control their outcome while in other cases we are just observers on how a story unfolds in our heads. Whether they are based on your life’s journey like a talk with your friend or as bizarre and random as two dogs having a cup of coffee, all dreams have stories. They don’t necessarily have to mean anything, but finding meaning in them is not necessarily the point. We are to watch, listen, and observe what they have to tell.

Some of the stories here have a moral lesson speaking about the beauty and tragedy of life while some are simply stories with no specific lesson to teach other than your own understanding of the characters.

Come dream with me.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Is There A Story In Your Dream?

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    Interesting idea, will check that blog out!

Leave a Reply

