Aren’t You Bothered That You’re Not Bothered Enough?

We’re living in a crazy world right now. It’s just crazy what’s been going on especially on our country. Amidst the corruption, scams, and crimes that politicians put on us, we are also struck with probably the strongest typhoon of the year.

I’ve seen pictures and images of the devastation of the typhoon and it just breaks my heart. At the same time, even though we can only see pictures of the destruction we can’t really know what it must have felt like for the victims. We can only empathize so much because we have not seen it first hand. Probably even a reporter who’s in there right now and sees all the chaos can’t really put his or her shoes to the victims. It takes a great deal of heart and empathy to actually feel what they felt. The loss, grief, and helplessness is just overwhelming.

Image

(Picture from GMA News Online – http://www.gmanetwork.com/news/story/334649/scitech/socialmedia/yolanda-in-pictures-super-typhoon-ravages-central-philippines)

With this mind, I’ve been thinking a lot with how these types of calamities affect us who are well, not affected directly. Moreover, how does the destruction in the Philippines those others in the world watching us.

What is the line drawn between apathy and actually caring for them? Is there a common space between selfishness and thinking of your daily life versus selflessness and actually going out of your way to help? How can you say that you’ve done enough for those people? How affected are you really? Aren’t you bothered that you’re not bothered enough?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not here judging those who have the ability to help and not help. I’m not here convicting anyone that amidst the numerous tweets and posts about rescuing people there’s someone posting a complaint about his or her boss. I believe that this calamity has struck each of us individually and with a special purpose. Maybe some are supposed to continue their daily jobs and whatever it is their going through and maybe that is the best way that they can help.

I used to think a lot about this when I was working for a watch company. I’d be on my desk trying to analyze the features of a certain watch while their was a storm and can’t help but think “Is this what I’m supposed to be doing right now?” People have lost their families and hopes and I’m stuck stressed with work. Now is this right? Maybe and maybe not. Was I selfish? Is thinking about the victims enough?

I don’t mean to sound like a prick and saying that I’m better than anyone else. I don’t want to be seemed as a self righteous person and judging others who are not. I’m just mulling over these questions as to how much do these calamities affect us and are our response to these questions enough. Again, aren’t we bothered that we’re not bothered enough? Is it enough to merely think about them and include them in your prayers? I’ll go a step further and ask, is it enough that a person volunteers and does outreach work?

I honestly don’t know the answer to these questions. Well, these are truly pending questions that only the soul can answer. Like I said earlier, there is a specific reason a person is where he or she when a tragedy strikes. Now it’s up to the person what that reason is. Maybe a certain person needs to pray or maybe someone else needs to actually go to Tacloban and help. It is important someone doesn’t judge anyone else. Some have been give more than others for a reason and there is also another reason why some are safer than others.  A silver lining to all this is the fact that you’re actually of doing something. I guess that’s the first step. The mere fact that you’re thinking of praying or donating your clothes and stuff like that shows how much affected you are.

I am bothered, extremely bothered… but I actually hope that I’m not bothered enough. I hope I’m bothered enough to do more.

Leave a Reply

