What’s Your Funeral Playlist?

Have you ever imagined your own funeral? It’s a weird and tough question that a lot of people don’t want to talk about primarily because of the concept of death. However, I’ve always been curious about death and what will happen to the people around me when I die. It’s not that I want to die at any second now, but I’m just curious what will happen after.

On my comedic side, I want my funeral to be like in the movie First Knight when King Arthur died. His body was placed on a raft to be let out into the sea while an archer shoots a flaming arrow in order for it to burn ala Game of Thrones type too. That would be silly and funny if I went out like that.

My question today is what is/are the song/s would you like to play on your funeral? Think of it as sort of a “death playlist.” Don’t think of any morbid or sad ideas but merely focus on the beauty and power of songs. They can be your favorite songs or just songs that talk about the after life. It’s like you’re going out music or your last message to your family and friends.

1.    Rainbow Connection – Kermit the Frog / Jim Henson (from “The Muppet Movie)

What’s so amazing that keeps us star gazing
and what do we think we might see?
Someday we’ll find it, the rainbow connection. The lovers, the dreamers and me.

2.    Asleep – The Smiths

Sing me to sleep…

Don’t feel bad for me
I want you to know
Deep in the cell of my heart
I will feel so glad to go

3.    (Good Riddance) Time of Your Life – Greenday

It’s something unpredictable
But in the end it’s right
I hope you had the time of your life

4.    Blowin’ In The Wind – Bob Dylan

How many roads must a man walk down before you call him a man?

5.    Beautiful Ride – Dewy Cox (from “Walk Hard: The Dewy Cox story”)

And then in the end
It’s family and friends
Loving yourself
But not only yourself
It’s about the good walk
And the hard walk
And the young girls you’ve made cry
It’s about make a little music everyday ‘til you di-ie

6.    Angel – Sarah Mclachlan

You are pulled from the wreckage
Of your silent reverie
You’re in the arms of the angel
May you find some comfort here

7.    Amazing Grace – John Newton

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see.

8.    For Now – from the Broadway musical “Avenue Q”

Only for now!
(For now there’s life!)
Only for now!
(For now there’s love!)
Only for now!
(For now there’s work!)
For now there’s happiness!
But only for now!
(For now discomfort!)
Only for now!
(For now there’s friendship!)
Only for now (For now!)
Only for now!

9.    Defying Gravity – from the Broadway Musical “Wicked”

I’m through accepting limits
’cause someone says they’re so
Some things I cannot change
But till I try, I’ll never know!

I’d soon try
Defying gravity
Kiss me goodbye
I’m defying gravity

10.     Somewhere Over The Rainbow – Israel Kamakawiwo’ole version

Someday I’ll wish upon a star
Wake up where the clouds are far behind me
Where trouble melts like lemon drops
High above the chimney tops
That’s where you’ll find me

11.          Pure Imagination – Willy Wonka (from “Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory”)

Come with me and you’ll be

In a world of pure imagination

Take a look and you’ll see

Into your Imagination

12.         Go Ateneo (Just because. Sort of a final cheer? Haha)

 

I guess the lyrics speak for themselves. Though I didn’t put down the entire song, somehow each of the chosen lyrics portray a certain emotion. Plus together with melody and the rest of the song, they will all be so beautiful. There’s no particular order in which the songs have to be played, my family or friends just have to play them no matter what. In death there is sadness, regret, acceptance, grief, joy, and peace. Hopefully through these songs, I may be able to share this with the people closest to me.

Leave a Reply

